Meet The Accounts Assistant: Jessica Lee

Meet The Accounts Assistant: Jessica Lee

8 December 2017

LinkedIn ShareShare
More

 

How did you get in to accountancy?

Accountancy has always been a career I have wished to pursue. Whilst my degree is in Geography, I undertook accountancy modules throughout my four years at university and knew that once I graduated, I was keen to take the first steps into this profession. I wished to work in Glasgow and when I heard of the Accounts Assistant position becoming available, I knew it would be a brilliant opportunity.

What was your dream job as a child?  

My dream job without a doubt, would have to become a professional showjumper. I was fortunate enough to own my own horse throughout school and loved spending my weekends competing. Once I was at University, I was selected as part of the equestrian team.

How do you commute?

I commute directly been my home village, Kilmacolm and Glasgow, via bus. It takes me approximately 45 minutes to arrive in Glasgow.

What does a typical day look like?

I arrive in the office at around 8:45, to switch on my computer and update myself with the emails that have accumulated overnight. On a Monday – Wednesday, my primary focus is on Temporary Payroll. Here, I must ensure that pension data is up-to-date and that all timesheets, holiday requests and contractor invoices have been inputted correctly. I also must add all the newly recruited people onto our system and remove all the leavers.

The latter part of the week focuses upon credit control and invoicing clients for the hours worked by their temporary worker during that week. These roles involve far more time spent talking to companies, as opposed to using the likes of SAGE Accounts, SAGE Payroll and Excel.

I also cover reception daily, for an hour at lunchtime. In this role, I must answer the phone to deal with all incoming requests and register all candidates that come in to meet the recruiters. For this, I must give them the correct forms to complete, scan their ID and upload their information onto FIrefish.

What’s the best part of your job?

The best part of my job would be being able to see you are performing well each week. It’s very satisfying to know you’ve been responsible to pay well over 100 individuals and to have remittances from large companies arrive as a result of my hard work.

What’s been your biggest success so far?

My biggest success was being awarded the Royal Scottish Geographical Society’s Silver Medal during my Senior Honours year. This national award was decided by an external party from the university, so it felt hugely rewarding to have been awarded a prize for academic excellence in a year that held so much importance.

What do you like to do in your free time?

I’m currently living at home, so I’m currently in the position to be able to spend a lot of my free time with my family and friends. I love to spend the weekends either walking our family dog, or riding the horse.

What is most important to you?

For me, it would be career progression. I would like to become a qualified accountant and continue to work within the industry.

Describe yourself in three words.

Hard-working, conscientious and competitive.  

 

 

Written By Jessica Lee

Comments

Currently there are no comments. Be the first to post one!

Post Comment

*
*
*